The Bible is the holy book of Christians. The word “Bible” comes from the Greek word “biblia” which means “books”.

The Bible is not one book but a collection of many books from many prophets. It contains the Law of Moses (Torah), the Psalms of David, the books of Solomon, the books of the prophets Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi and others. It has the Gospel of Jesus recorded by Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, and the writings of the apostles of Jesus.

The Bible
Law of Moses
The Books of
the Prophets
The Psalms The Gospel
<———— c. 1500 years ————–>

The Qur’an refers by name to some of these books. It speaks of the Torah & Gospel (Qur’an 3:3), the books of the prophets (Qur’an 3:84), and the Psalms (Qur’an 4:163); and it calls Christians “the people of the book” (Qur’an 5:68).

Why do Christians have all these books in the Bible?

Christians accept all the prophets and make no distinction between them, therefore, they have all these books in the Bible so they can read them.

Secondly, God has spoken to us through many prophets. Their books build on each other and they are meant to be read together, and together they give us God’s complete message. What Christians believe about God comes from reading all of the books of the prophets.

When the disciples of Jesus believed the Gospel they continued to read and teach from the Law of Moses, the Prophets, and the Psalms.

Read More:

Download full content as a printable PDF/flyer.